Monday, January 25, 2010





As many as 62 IAF Air Warriors have been decorated with Presidential Awards on the eve of Republic Day, this year. This includes Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM) for six Air Marshals, Ati Vishisht seva Medal (AVSM) for two Air Marshals, six Air Vice Marshals and four Air Commodores.
Similarly, PVSM has been conferred on Air Marshal Jyoti Narayan Burma, Air Officer-in-charge Administration, Air Marshal Venkataraman Ramamurthy Iyer, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Training Command, Air Marshal Tejbir Singh Randhawa, Director General (Inspection & Safety), Air Marshal NAK Browne and Air Marshal PV Athawale, Air Officers Commanding-in-Chief of Western Air Command and Maintenance Command, respectively.
Besides, Air Marshal Simhakutty Varthaman and Air Marshal Joseph Neri have been conferred the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM).
This year, the Vayu Sena Medal (VM) for Gallantry have been awarded to Wing Commander Ajay Koul, Wing Commander Riju Kochhar and Squadron Leader Anoop Singh, all pilots. While five other Group Captains have been awarded the VM for devotion to duty, nine Wing Commanders have also been conferred the same.
The Vishisht Seva Medal (VSM) list comprises five Air Commodores, 17 Group Captains, four Wing Commanders and a Warrant Officer, KC Parameswaran.
In addition, Brigadier Man Mohan Singh Bharaj, an Officer of the Indian Army from the Corps of Engineers on deputation with IAF has also been conferred the VSM. 


A total of 38 Indian Naval personnel are included in the list of Presidential awards announced on the occasion of the Republic Day 2010. The list of awardees includes one Shaurya Chakra (Posthumous), three Nausena medals (Gallantry), three Param Vishist Seva Medals, Seven Ati Vishist Seva Medals, eight Nausena Medals (Devotion to Duty) and 16 Vishist Seva Medals.
It is noteworthy that four of the gallantry award winners are Marine Commandoes (MARCOs) deployed on Counter Insurgency operations in Jammu and Kashmir. The lone Shaurya Chakra was awarded to Chandrashekar Petty Officer who lost his life whilst rescuing a wounded buddy even whilst returning offensive fire and killing a terrorist. The other three MARCOs include Lt Vikas Dahiya, Yaimachoul Singh Leading Seaman and Jaidev Leading Seaman have been awarded Nausena Medal (Gallantry).
The three awardees of Param Vishist Seva Medals include Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief Western Naval Command Vice Admiral Sanjeev Bashin, Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief Southern Naval Command Vice Admiral KN Sushil and Vice Admiral (Retd) Dilip Deshpande former Chief of Materiel. 


1 comment:

  1. should the indian air force also allow other branches to fly....preently only the FP branch is allowed to fly.....unlike many air forces and our own army...there seems to be bias towards gd branches to allow flying....any comments pls...